2020 Coaching staff and football department

Discussion in 'Newcastle Knights Discussion' started by Billy, Sep 20, 2019.

1. Billy

Billy Danny 'Bedsy' Buderus

Head Coach

Adam O'Brien

Assistant coaches

David Furner (prop) coming to us from Souths, but has a long coaching history

Willie Peters (halfback) coming to us from Souths - former Souths, Saints and several ESL teams player

Development coaches (reserves and under 20s I assume)

Rory Kostjasyn (half or hooker) - 3rd year coaching at the Knights after a medical retirement during 2017 pre season.

Eric Smith (coached Muswellbrook Rams to a group 21 title before joining the Melbourne coaching team 5 years ago) - would have coached Beau Fermor and Jirah Momoisea in Melbourne under 20s 2 years ago and currently coaching Melbourne's Qld cup feeder club and still in the race for the title. Looking at his linkedin account, he played in country Queensland and is a builder by trade.
    I wonder if Nathan Tinkler had anything to do with recruiting him to Muswellbrook 6 years ago - Tinks was a former Rams player and put some money into them (when he had money)

Junior development coach
    Scott Dureau

Head trainer
    No word yet, but will be surprized if Cupples doesn't get another year.

Tasgirl and Lefty like this.
  2. kurtsux

kurtsux Adrian Bubb

Cupples did a fantastic job with squad. Deserves another go around for sure

Lefty likes this.
  3. krustykraz

krustykraz Todd Bates

Lefty likes this.
  4. Kurriboy

Kurriboy Mark Hughes

That is great. We need all these supporting coaches around the club. In the pursuit of excellence you can leave no stone unturned to reach that level.