2019 NRLW Premiership

Discussion in 'General Rugby League' started by rhugh89, Dec 20, 2018.

  1. rhugh89

    rhugh89 Danny 'Bedsy' Buderus Staff Member Admin

    Aug 12, 2012
    2019 Women's Rugby League calendar announced

    NRL Media Release
    Thu 20 Dec 2018, 07:00 AM

    The NRL has announced Women's Rugby League major fixtures for 2019, following a series of new events for the women's game in 2018.

    In addition to local and state competitions, highlights include:

    • A four-week NRL Holden Women's Premiership, featuring the Broncos, Dragons, Roosters and Warriors and coinciding with the men's Finals Series

    • A stand-alone Holden Women's State of Origin match on Friday 21 June at North Sydney Oval

    • The NRL Harvey Norman Women's National Championship, played on the Gold Coast between 30 May – 2 June

    • Indigenous and Maori All Stars teams playing as part of the NRL Harvey Norman All Stars double-header on Friday 15 February at AAMI Park in Melbourne

    • Four international women's teams competing as part of the Downer World Cup Nines tournament to be played at Bankwest Stadium in Sydney in October

    The Harvey Norman Jillaroos and an Australian Prime Minister's XIII will also take part in international fixtures towards the end of next year.

    NRL General Manager of the Women's Elite Program, Tiffany Slater said the support of Women's Rugby League had continued to grow throughout 2018.

    "The focus for 2019 is to consolidate on the success of this year and continue to grow our game from grassroots players, right through to support for our marquee events, including State of Origin, the Premiership and our Jillaroos," Ms Slater said.

    "In speaking with our stakeholders and importantly, our players over the past few months, the overwhelming response is that we're on the right path and to keep expansion of the game in check with our participation numbers and player wellbeing top of mind.

    "It's been pleasing to witness the increasing groundswell of support for women's rugby league over the past year in particular.

    "Millions of fans tuned in or turned up to support our game in 2018, the coverage from our broadcasters and the media in general was fantastic and we've continued to see an increase in females playing and participating.

    "The more support that women's rugby league gains along the way, the greater the long-term opportunities and increased competition."

  2. Mr Goanna

    Mr Goanna hung up on the glory days

    Jun 1, 2008
    millions of fans? pfft yeah right.
  3. rhugh89

    rhugh89 Danny 'Bedsy' Buderus Staff Member Admin

    Aug 12, 2012

    Round 1

    Roosters v Warriors at AAMI Park, September 14, 3.05pm

    Dragons v Broncos at Bankwest Stadium, September 15, 2.05pm

    Round 2

    Broncos v Roosters, TBA, September 21, 5.05pm

    Warriors v Dragons, Mt Smart Stadium, September 22, 1.15pm

    Round 3

    Broncos v Warriors, TBA, September 28, 5.05pm

    Dragons v Roosters, September 28, Leichhardt Oval, 1.15pm

    *The GF will take place on Sunday October 6 at ANZ Stadium as part of NRL Grand Final day


    The Karyn Murphy Medal will be awarded to the best player in the grand final.

    It has been named after the Queensland and Jillaroos legend, who is also a part of the NRL’s Integrity Unit.

    A proud Queenslander, Murphy played in the inaugural Interstate Challenge match between Queensland and New South Wales in 1999 and helped her state achieve an unrivalled 16 consecutive wins against New South Wales.

    She also played 27 matches for Australia with an impressive 17 of 27 matches as captain.

    Last season it was awarded to Broncos half Kimiora Nati, who now plays for the Dragons.


    All games are broadcast live on Fox League and Channel 9. You can also purchase tickets here.

    If overseas, you can watch the Women’s NRL premiership LIVE and on-demand with Watch NRL.


    Sydney Roosters v Warriors at 3.05pm at AAMI Park

    Roosters: 1. Corban McGregor 2. Karina Brown 3. Shontelle Stowers 4. Isabelle Kelly 5. Kiana Takairangi 6. Kirra Dibb 7. Melanie Howard 8. Ruan Sims 9. Nita Maynard 10. Vanessa Foliaki 11. Tallisha Harden 12. Hannah Southwell 13. Simaima Taufa-Kautai 14. Zahara Temara 15. Rebecca Young 16. Aliti Namoce 17. Caitlan Johnston 18. Bobbi Law 19. Shanice Parker 20. Simone Smith 21. Quincy Dodd

    Analysis: Mel Howard has won the No.7 jersey over Zahara Temara and Simone Smith and will partner Kirra Dibb. Six players including Corban McGregor, who missed last season with a shoulder injury, are set to make their debuts.

    Warriors: 1. Apii Nicholls 2. Hilda Mariu 3. Jules Newman 4. Atawhai Tupaea 5. Madison Bartlett 6. Timaima Ravisa 7. Charntay Poko 8. Annetta Nuuausala 9. Krystal Rota 10. Aieshaleigh Smalley 11. Kathleen Wharton 12. Crystal Tamarua 13. Georgia Hale 14. Kanyon Paul 15. Tasia Seumanufagai 16. Billy-Jean Ale 17. Amber Kani 18. Roela Radiniyavuni 21. Tanika-Jazz Noble 24. Onjeurlina Leiataua 25. Tyler Reid

    Analysis: New Zealand star Honey Hireme is unfortunately missing due to family reasons. The Warriors have nine debutants with Tanika-Jazz Noble-Bell and Onjeurlina Leiataua named in the reserves.


    St George Illawarra Dragons v Brisbane Broncos

    Dragons: 1. Botille Vette-Welsh 2. Stephanie Mooka 3. Jessica Sergis 4. Tiana Penitani 5. Shakiah Tungai 6. Kimiora Nati 7. Maddie Studdon 8. Teuila Fotu-Moala 9. Brittany Breayley 10. Maitua Feterika 11. Kezie Apps 12. Shaylee Bent 13. Holli Wheeler 14. Keeley Davis 15. Takilele Katoa 16. Maddison Weatherall 17. Ngatokotoru Arakua 18. Najvada George 19. Rikeya Horne 20. Lexi Kiriwi 21. Sarah Togatuki

    Analysis: Former Broncos champion No.9 Brittany Breayley has joined the club and will start at hooker. Five players to make their NRLW debut. Rising Indigenous All Stars forward Shaylee Bent wins a back row spot alongside Kezie Apps, pushing Teuila Fotu-Moala to start at prop. Kimiora Nati will join forces with Maddie Studdon in the halves.

    Broncos: 1. Chelsea Baker 2. Tamika Upton 3. Amy Turner 4. Amber Pilley 5. Meg Ward 6. Raecene McGregor 7. Ali Brigginshaw 8. Millie Boyle 9. Lavinia Gould 10. Amber Paris-hall 11. Annette Brander 12. Tazmin Gray 13. Rona Peters 14. Tarryn Aiken 15. Steph Hancock 16. Mariah Storch 17. Jessika Elliston 18. Rosemary Vaimili Toalepai 19. Heather Ballinger 20. Taylor Mapusua 21. Chelsea Lenarduzzi


Share This Page